In March 1881, five Little Sisters traveled from France to work and open a home for the elderly of Rhode Island. Like their foundress, Jeanne Jugan, their only resources were sincere hearts, willing spirits, and an empty begging basket.
They lived for two years at the General James Estate on Slocum Street in Providence, RI.
The Little Sisters moved to Pawtucket in 1883 to resided at the Holy Trinity Home which was donated by Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Banigan to the Sisters. They remained there until 1979.
After 4 years of planning and construction, the Little Sisters moved into their current home in 1979, the Jeanne Jugan Residence for the Elderly Poor.
The facility was later expanded to include 27 independent living apartments in the early 1980s.
Our home is a testament to the faith of Our Foundress, Saint Jeanne Jugan, when she stated, “Give us the house—if God fills it, God will not abandon it!"
Estate of General James on Slocum Street in Providence, RI
Holy Trinity Home in Pawtucket, RI
Jeanne Jugan Residence in Pawtucket, RI